travel essentials for a glamour girl

With such a hectic travel schedule, it has become easy to pack for trips – at least when it comes to my makeup/skincare! Having honed it down to a fine art and understand exactly what I need is essential to getting packed, pronto! It’s not easy for a girly girl like me to pack, particularly when many of my trips revolve around performances and over the top makeup/skincare needs. What is fantastic is having a simple makeup kit I can just grab and throw into my suitcase, knowing it will be sufficient for any occasion.

Today I thought I would post my travel makeup essentials that will take you through any occasion from work to play and even performance, whilst fitting into a small cosmetics pouch! Many of you who read this blog are avid travellers and/or dancers as well, so I hope this helps you.

Here are the steps I went through in creating my perfect makeup kit for travel:

1. Invest in a Makeup Palette that’s perfect for me

Over the years, I have purchased many makeup palettes, hoping they would be the holy grail of everything I need. Being a brown skinned girl though, it’s difficult to get palettes that suit my skintone, or that have universally useful sections. Finally though, I have found my 2 holy grail palettes. The first is by Bobbi Brown, and involves her fantastic customisable 6-pan palette. When I found out about these babies, I was in heaven!

bobbi brown 6 pan palette

bobbi brown 6 pan palette

Mine contains: 1 Cream foundation, 1 shimmer blush, 2 neutral eyeshadows, 1 black eyeshadow, 1 lip gloss. These are enough for me to create a day or night look, and everything in between. Yes, the cost for setting it up initially was a little steep, but it’s so worth it.

The other palette I have found to be holy grail worthy, is Lancome’s Tendre Voyage palette. Pictured below, you’ll see that it has everything I need, plus the quality of pigments mean they look fabulous on my tan skin.

With either of these palettes, I can do almost all my makeup with just the one slim item, and build for color/coverage as needed!

Lancome Tendre Voyage Palette

Lancome Tendre Voyage Palette

2. Found a foundation that is fuss-free

This is just about the only budget makeup item I use – Za 2-way foundation that I buy in bulk at Watson’s stores in Singapore everytime I’m home. I’ve been using it since I was 19, and let me tell you, this is the best foundation out there. It can be used wet or dry, can be used for a dewy day look or a fully-coveraged night look. It’s compact, travels well, comes with a great sponge, and even though I’ve strayed many times to try Chanel, Lancome, Becca, Nars and Bobbi Brown foundations, my $20 Za compact always emerges my faithful winner. Plus, the compact is sleek so great for travel, especially this PINK special edition one for 2010!!

Za 2-way Foundation

Za 2-way Foundation

3. A brush set that does it all

I usually pack my Bobbi Brown mini brush set when I travel – these have a new iteration every year so wait for the holiday season and get it then! It’s super small but has no compromise on quality or denseness of the bristles. Mine’s lasted a good 4 years now of constant travel and use, so you know they’re worth the splurge!

Bobbi Brown Mini Brush set

Bobbi Brown Mini Brush set

4. A few extras for gorgeous eyes

If I’m performing or appearing at an event, the eyes need to do some heavy duty impressing. So I pack:

Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliner – this baby just wears and wears and wears, all night, without smudging. I can make a subtle or dramatic look. And I know I’m supposed to invest in the eyeliner brush but I tend to use the lipliner brush from the set above. *naughty*

Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliner

Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliner

L’oreal Automatic Eye Liner – Super light and slim, long wearing, great sharp lines, no sharpener needed. Perfection. When I travel this also doubles as eyebrow pencil.

L'oreal Pencil Perfect Eyeliner

L'oreal Pencil Perfect Eyeliner

Maybelline mascara – for pretty peepers!

Fake Eyelashes & Eyelash Glue – I stock up on these when I go to Asia – they’re so cheap and individually packaged so I can throw a couple of pairs in my makeup case and dispose of after one use! A tip – I use black eyelash glue, which makes ten times more sense than the white goopy stuff!

fake eyelashes

Shimmer – A tiny pot of white shimmer goes a long way dabbed on eyelids, brow bone, inner corner of eyes, decolletage, anywhere you want to glow, pop, you know, SHINE. I favour the I-nuovi and MAC ones.

shimmer powder

5. Some pucker agents

All I need in this case are:

1x red lipstick (Chanel Rouge Allure); 1x lipgloss (Lancome Juicy Tube)

Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick

Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick

Lancome Juicy Tube

Lancome Juicy Tube

And I’m good to go. I use one or the other, or can layer a smudge of red lippie with gloss for a subtle kissed-all-night stain, OR just swipe that lippie on heavily with a light coat of foundation underneath it, for all night glamourpuss lips.

So there you go – all I have in that makeup pouch is:

  • 1x palette
  • 1x foundation compact
  • 1x compact brush set
  • Eye stuff – eye pencil, gel eyeliner, mascara, shimmer pot
  • Lipstick & Lipgloss

All this fits comfortably into a case that is about 6 by 4 inches, and weighs almost nothing! Plus if you wanted to hand carry it, it all passes the TSA guidelines and fits in a Ziploc bag comfortably! Have I ever worried that I don’t have enough on me? Never. Ever. This kit has seen me through huge stage performances, job interviews, teaching, beach holidays, and more.

One last note – I have a travel makeup case and a daily use makeup case. This way when I pack, I just grab the travel one. It doesn’t make sense to keep repacking when I am on the road every 3 weeks! I also keep one set of my travel makeup at my office so I don’t lug anything but a lipgloss around with me daily! So simplifying!

Stay tuned for my skincare travel essentials!

One response to “travel essentials for a glamour girl

  1. Pingback: ball on a budget « sharon pakir

Leave a Reply

